top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbbey Morris

The Year of Connection

Like many people at the start of the year, I set goals that I hope to achieve over the next 12 months. I like taking the time to set goals because it helps to put in perspective what I am passionate about and encourages me to reflect on what I hope to improve or accomplish in the coming year. One of my goals was to launch a personal website, and here we are, so you can’t say it never works.


In addition to setting goals, I decided to choose a word for the year; something to help guide my actions and intentions. This year, I chose the word connection. In September 2021, I moved from Ottawa to Windsor, Ontario. The reason I moved is because my partner is doing his PhD in Chemistry at UWindsor and we didn't want to continue doing long distance. Luckily, my work is fully remote and I did not have any commitments in Ottawa that restricted the move. I was excited to embark on a new adventure and live with my partner for the first time.


Within the first few weeks of living in Windsor, we visited Point Pelee National Park, went apple picking, and started going to the bouldering gym together. It was fun being in a new place, but as the novelty wore off, I started missing my parents, my cats, and my friends in Ottawa. I felt very disconnected. I found it hard to make friends in a new city during a pandemic. I kept in touch with a few people from home, but I knew that without proximity, I needed to be more intentional about staying connected.


So, I decided to make “connection” my focus for 2022. I want to be more connected to the people I care about, my surroundings, and myself.


Connection to loved ones

According to Brené Brown, connection is “the energy that exists between people when they feel seen, heard, and valued; when they can give and receive without judgement; and when they derive sustenance and strength from the relationship.” Throughout my life, I have connected with a lot of people, but often lose touch with them once I shift chapters in my life story. I am the kind of person who loves taking pictures to capture memories and will look back at photos from years ago and wonder what the person who is smiling next to me is up to today. Over the course of 2022, I am hoping to nurture more meaningful relationships with my partner, my friends, and my family, so that I don’t have to wonder why or when we drifted apart. Strong social support networks are an important contribution to overall health and wellness. Maintaining meaningful relationships requires time and effort, but it’s worth it in the end. I have a few close friends who I’ve been chatting with virtually on a weekly and monthly basis which I will strive to maintain. I am also planning to reach out to more people that I care about throughout the year to catch up and let them know that I am thinking about them.


Connection to my surroundings

Being in a new city has pushed me to expand my comfort zone and explore new places. I came to Windsor with the hopes of discovering all of the hidden gems this city has to offer, but found it hard with all of the pandemic restrictions. I know that there are great places out there and I look forward to finding more of them this year. I am also looking forward to getting more involved in the community and volunteering with people who share my interests.


Connection to myself

As an only child, I have a lot of experience being by myself. I enjoy introspection and don’t mind being alone, especially if there are markers and other art supplies at my disposal. However, I do find that I have difficulty being gentle and forgiving with myself. This year, I am going to consciously try connecting with myself through self-compassion and empathy. To do this, I plan to continue journaling and expressing my emotions through art that I hope to share with you on this website and on my instagram @HappyAbbeyArt.


While it may seem like a lot of work connecting with my loved ones, my surroundings, and myself, I am ready to put in the time and effort needed to strengthen my relationships. Especially during these unpredictable times, I know that connection is one of the only things that will get me through.


Is there anyone or anything in your life that you would like to be more connected to? Do you have a word of the year? I’d love to connect with you to find out!


Stay kind and curious,

Abbey


61 views3 comments
bottom of page